Coverart for item
The Resource The house uptown, Melissa Ginsburg

The house uptown, Melissa Ginsburg

Label
The house uptown
Title
The house uptown
Statement of responsibility
Melissa Ginsburg
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For fans of Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman, Melissa Ginsburg's The House Uptown is an emotional coming-of-age novel about a young girl who goes to live with her eccentric grandmother in New Orleans after the death of her mother. Ava, 14 years old and totally on her own, has still not fully processed her mother's death when she finds herself on a train heading to New Orleans, going to stay with Lane, her grandmother whom she's never met. Lane is a well-known artist in the New Orleans art scene. She spends most of her days in a pot-smoke haze, sipping iced coffee, and working on the mural that has been her singular focus for years. Her grip on reality is shaky at best, but her work provides a comfort. Ava's arrival unsettles Lane. The girl bears an uncanny resemblance to her daughter, whom she was estranged from before her death. Now her presence is dredging up painful and disturbing memories, which forces Lane to retreat even further into her own mind. Ava, meanwhile, is entranced and frightened by her grandmother. She wants to be included in her eccentric life, but can't quite navigate Lane's tempestuous moods. Attempting to keep the peace is Oliver, Lane's assistant and confidant. As this unlikely trio attempts to find their way and form a bond, the oppressive heat and history of New Orleans bears down on them, forcing them to a reckoning none of them is ready for"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Ginsburg, Melissa
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3607.I4587
LC item number
H68 2021
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Teenage girls
  • Parents
  • Grandmothers
  • Artists
  • New Orleans (La.)
  • Artists
  • Grandmothers
  • Parents
  • Teenage girls
  • Louisiana
Target audience
adult
Label
The house uptown, Melissa Ginsburg
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
MSTDDAPRINT1151073378
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
244 pages
Isbn
9781250784186
Lccn
2020042060
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
The house uptown, Melissa Ginsburg
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
MSTDDAPRINT1151073378
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
244 pages
Isbn
9781250784186
Lccn
2020042060
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Curtis Laws Wilson LibraryBorrow it
      400 West 14th Street, Rolla, MO, 65409, US
      37.955220 -91.772210
Processing Feedback ...